Michigan Hunters – Your Help Is URGENTLY Needed!

Latinamericaantihuntingfirstforhunters012914Michigan Hunters – Your Help Is URGENTLY Needed To Pass A Citizen-Initiated Law: Contact State Legislators Starting WEDNESDAY, JULY 16th!

Lansing, MI – In June, Safari Club International’s (SCI) Michigan Chapters worked in conjunction with the Citizens for Professional Wildlife Management (CPWM) to submit over 374,000 signatures to the Michigan Secretary of State in support of the ballot committee sponsoring a citizen-initiated law called the Scientific Fish & Wildlife Conservation Act (SFWCA). Every citizen who signed the petition did so with the expectation that the legislature would vote on this Act.

The signatures are expected to be certified by the State Board of Canvassers the week of July 21st. Once they are certified, the legislature will have a 40 day window to vote on the Act. This means that Wednesday, August 13th is the FIRST and possibly ONLY session day where this vote can take place. The Michigan legislature will be in session this Wednesday, July 16th so make the extra effort to contact your elected official and tell them you support SFWCA. Please ask all Michigan hunters that you know to also contact the legislature to let them know they support SFWCA as well. Only with your sustained effort to contact legislators will we be successful!

It is imperative that ALL Michigan hunters contact as many state legislators as possible BEGINNING WEDNESDAY, JULY 16th to ask them to support sound scientific management by supporting the Scientific Fish & Wildlife Conservation Act on August 13th

Out-of-state radical anti-hunting groups, led by the Humane Society of the United States, have launched two referendum drives in Michigan seeking to overrule Michigan’s wildlife biologists on game management decisions. With their deep pockets, they know that once they get on a statewide ballot, it’s just a matter of spending millions of dollars in misleading advertising. They are currently trying the same strategy in Maine, just as they tried it here in 1996 and in 2006. Without this citizen-initiated legislation, fish and game decisions made by our state’s professional wildlife biologists will be subject to endless expensive referendums run by out-of-state activists.

The bipartisan Natural Resources Commission was created in 1922 to separate conservation from politics. In 1996, the people of Michigan voted to give the NRC exclusive authority to issue game orders and required that it use sound science. This initiative makes sure that fish and game decisions can be made by the only public body in Michigan required by the people to use sound science: the Natural Resources Commission.

The Scientific Fish & Wildlife Conservation Act would

  • Ensure that decisions affecting the taking of fish and game are made using principles of sound scientific fish and wildlife management;
  • Provide for free hunting, fishing and trapping licenses for active members of the military, and;
  • Provide appropriations for fisheries management activities within Michigan necessary for rapid response, prevention, control and/or elimination of aquatic invasive species, including Asian carp.

If you wish to Email your representative, use this email template.

Senior Leadership that ALL Michigan Hunters are Encouraged to Call:

Senator Randy Richardville: 17th District randyrichardville@senate.michigan.gov or (517) 373-3543

Senator Arlan Meekhof: 30th District arlanmeekhof@senate.michigan.gov or (517) 373-6920

Representative Jase Bolger: 63rd District JaseBolger@house.mi.gov or (517)373-1787

Representative Jim Stamas: 98th District jimstamas@house.mi.gov or (517) 370-1791

 

Senate Republicans that ALL Michigan Hunters are Encouraged to Call:

Patrick Colbeck: 7th District SenPColbeck@senate.michigan.gov or (517) 373-7350.

Judy Emmons: 33rd District judyemmons@senate.michigan.gov or (517) 373-3760.

Tanya Schuitmaker: 20th Districttanyaschuitmake@senate.michigan.gov or (517) 373-0793.

Roger Kahn: 32nd District SenRKahn@senate.michigan.gov or (517) 373-1760.

Mike Nofs: 19th District SenMNofs@senate.michigan.gov or (517) 373-2426.

Jim Marleau: 12th District jimmarleau@senate.michigan.gov or (248) 724-2442.

 

Senate Democrats that ALL Michigan Hunters are Encouraged to Call:

Jim Ananich: 27th District jimananich@senate.michigan.gov or (517) 373-0142.

House Republicans that ALL Michigan Hunters are Encouraged to Call:

Kevin Cotter: 99th District kevincotter@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-5754

Mike Callton: 87th District mikecallton@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-5670

Anthony Forlini: 24th District anthonyforlini@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-5746

Frank Foster: 107th District FrankFoster@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-2629

Ben Glardon: 85th District benglardon@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-5672

Robert Genetski: 80th District robertgenetski@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-0836

Kurt Heise: 20th District kurtheise@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-5941

Tom Hooker: 77th District tomhooker@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-2277

Martin Howrylak: 41st District martinhowrylak@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-1923

Eileen Kowall: 44th District eileenkowall@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-2616

Jeff Farrington: 30th District jefffarrington@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-7768

Ken Kurtz: 58th District kenkurtz@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-1794

Matt Lori: 59th District mattlori@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-5771

Tom McMillin: 45th District tommcmillin@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-1773

Paul Muxlow: 83rd District paulmuxlow@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-5674

Earl Poleski: 64th District earlpoleski@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-5694

Pat Somerville: 23rd District patsomerville@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-5751

Gail Haines: 43rd District GailHaines@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-0615

House Democrats that ALL Michigan Hunters are Encouraged to Call:

Terry Brown: 84th District terrybrown@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-0476

Charles Brunner: 96th District charlesbrunner@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-0158

Tom Cochran: 67th District tomcochran@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-0587

Fred Durhal: 5th District freddurha@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-0844

Pam Faris: 48th District pamfaris@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-7557

Stacey Erwin Oakes: 95th District StacyErwinOakes@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-0152

Harvey Santana: 9th District harveysantana@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-6990

Charles Smiley: 50th District charlessmiley@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-3906

Thomas Stallworth: 7th District thomasstallworth@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-2276

Woodrow Stanley: 34th District woodrowstanley@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-8808

Adam Zemke: 55th District adamzemke@house.mi.gov or (517) 373-1792

Find your own personal Legislator

To find your Representative click: Michigan House of Representatives or visit http://house.michigan.gov/mhrpublic/

To find your Michigan Senator click: Michigan Senate or visit http://www.senate.michigan.gov/fysbyaddress.html

DONATE NOW TO HELP THE CAUSE

If you would like to help Michigan hunters fight dollar for dollar against outside anti-hunting organizations, please consider making a donation today at http://www.citizenswildlife.com/donate/. 100% of your donation will go to the fight in Michigan.

If you wish to send a check, please send it to the following address:

Citizens for Professional Wildlife Management

P.O. Box 11082

Lansing, MI 48910

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Follow First For Hunters on WordPress.com
%d bloggers like this: